Listen Live

HomeNewsCreston NewsBrittny Anderson named parliamentary secretary for tourism

Brittny Anderson named parliamentary secretary for tourism

Nelson-Creston MLA Brittny Anderson is now the parliamentary secretary for tourism, in addition to her role as special advisor on youth.

David Eby’s new cabinet was sworn in today.

Anderson was first elected in 2020. She previously served as a Nelson city councillor.

Kootenay West MLA Katrine Conroy is now finance minister, replacing Selina Robinson, who recently presented a higher-than-expected surplus of $5.7 billion. Robinson will now be the post-secondary education minister. Conroy has been forests minister since 2020.

- Advertisement -

Twenty-three ministers and four ministers of state make up B.C.’s new cabinet, which also includes two new positions. 

The province now has a dedicated Minister of Housing with Ravi Kahlon filling the spot. Kahlon was previously the Minister of Jobs, Economic Recovery and Innovation.

The other new ministry is for emergency management and climate readiness. Bowinn Ma will be that minister. 

There was also a big change for Jennifer Whiteside who was previously the education minister. She is now the Minister for Mental Health and Addictions.

Premier David Eby said the new cabinet will be well-equipped to combat the issues facing British Columbians including cost of living, health care, housing and the climate.

Some big names stayed in their previous positions, including Adrian Dix who will stay on as health minister and Mike Farnworth who will continue to be the public safety minister. 

Below is a full list of the new cabinet. 

  • Premier: David Eby
  • Agriculture and Food: Pam Alexis
  • Attorney General: Niki Sharma
  • Children and Family Development: Mitzi Dean
  • Citizens’ Services: Lisa Beare
  • Education and Child Care: Rachna Singh
    • Minister of State for Child Care: Grace Lore
  • Emergency Management and Climate Readiness: Bowinn Ma
  • Energy, Mines and Low Carbon Innovation: Josie Osborne
  • Environment and Climate Change Strategy: George Heyman
  • Finance (includes Columbia River Treaty): Katrine Conroy 
  • Forests, and Minister Responsible for Consular Corps: Bruce Ralston
  • Health, and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs: Adrian Dix
  • Housing, and Government House Leader: Ravi Kahlon
  • Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation: Murray Rankin
  • Jobs, Economic Development and Innovation: Brenda Bailey
    • Minister of State for Trade: Jagrup Brar
  • Labour: Harry Bains
  • Mental Health and Addictions: Jennifer Whiteside
  • Municipal Affairs: Anne Kang
  • Post-Secondary Education and Future Skills (includes immigration/foreign credentials): Selina Robinson
    • Minister of State for Workforce Development: Andrew Mercier
  • Public Safety and Solicitor General (ICBC), and Deputy Premier: Mike Farnworth
  • Social Development and Poverty Reduction: Sheila Malcolmson
  • Tourism, Arts, Culture and Sport: Lana Popham
  • Transportation and Infrastructure (BC Transit and Translink): Rob Fleming
    • Minister of State for Infrastructure and Transit: Dan Coulter
  • Water, Land and Resource Stewardship (Fisheries): Nathan Cullen
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading